Focused Guidance, Aggressive Family Law Advocacy

What are the different types of spousal support in New York?

On Behalf of | Jul 19, 2022 | Divorce

Spousal support is an important request that may be made during divorce. If you are requesting spousal support, or your spouse is, during your divorce, it is helpful to know the different types of spousal support that may be available.

The main categories

Spousal support is also referred to as alimony or spousal maintenance. Depending on the situation and circumstances, a court might award permanent, rehabilitative or restitutional spousal support.

Permanent spousal support is intended to be used for the daily needs of the former spouse. The spouse requesting permanent spousal must demonstrate their need for it. Once this type of support is awarded, it is generally permanent unless a change in circumstances merits a modification.

Temporary spousal support may also be possible in some situations.

Restitutional spousal support is considered repayment for something the receiving spouse provided. For instance, if one spouse supported the household while the other spouse was pursuing their education or enhancing their vocational skills, a court may find that restitutional spousal support is merited. Rehabilitative spousal support is another type of spousal support that may be awarded to allow the recipient spouse to develop job skills or bring their job skills up to date so they can secure suitable employment that will allow them to support themselves.

Be prepared

If the subject of spousal support comes up during your divorce, you should be prepared to discuss it. You should understand what is being asked or what you want to ask for which include understand the different types of spousal support and the factors used to determine it that this blog has previously discussed.